High-Quality Legal Representation In Kentucky And Indiana

What are the suspension periods for a DUI charge?

On Behalf of | Apr 17, 2022 | DUI Defense

Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a serious crime for which there are severe punishments. One of the universal consequences of a DUI conviction, regardless of whether it is your first time or you have had multiple DUIs, is license suspension.

Kentucky law implements automatic license suspension sentences for any charge of driving under the influence, according to KY.gov. How long your suspension will be depends on whether you have had a DUI conviction previously.

First-time offender

When you get your first DUI charge, you can expect to lose your license for at least six months. Keep in mind that the law will count charges for a ten-year period. So, if you had a DUI conviction 15 years ago and get one again, it counts as a first offense under the law and for punishment’s sake.

Second offense

For a second offense within a 10-year period, the suspension period increases to 18 months. Remember this is the minimum sentence. The court can increase it.

Third and fourth offense

Once you reach your third offense in 10 years, you are looking at a suspension for at least 36 months. If this is your fourth conviction, you will lose your license for at least 60 months.

Commercial license

If you hold a commercial driver’s license and get a DUI conviction, you will lose your license for at least one year. This applies regardless of what type of vehicle you were driving at the time and regardless of whether it is your first charge.

Remember the court holds the ultimate say on how long you will have a license suspension. The law only gives the minimum requirement under administrative rules.