High-Quality Legal Representation In Kentucky And Indiana

What happens if you get a DUI in Kentucky?

On Behalf of | Feb 23, 2021 | Drunk Driving

The penalties for driving under the influence in Kentucky vary based on factors in your case. For example, the court will review your previous record and your blood alcohol content at the time of the DUI arrest. 

Review some of the possible legal consequences for DUI in Kentucky. 

Alcohol and substance use treatment

Kentucky gives DUI offenders the opportunity to pursue treatment for addiction. The court can order up to 90 days in substance use order for the first offense and up to a year for subsequent offenses within 10 years of the first. If convicted, you must attend a treatment program approved by the court for DUI. 

License suspension

The state updated its license suspension times for DUI in July 2020 as follows: 

  • Six months for the first offense 
  • 18 months for the second offense in 10 years 
  • Three years for the third offense in 10 years 
  • Five years for the fourth offense in 10 years 

You may opt to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle instead of serving the license suspension. The IID prevents your vehicle’s engine from starting if the breath tester detects alcohol in your blood. 


For a first DUI offense, the Kentucky court can order $200 to $500 in fines. The second offense in 10 years carries $350 to $500 in fines and a third offense in 10 years can result in $500 to $1,000. 

In addition to these penalties, you can receive elevated fines or jail time for refusing a breath test, speeding, causing an injury or receiving a DUI with a passenger younger than 12.